2017-2018 Men's Basketball Preview

2017-2018 Men's Basketball Preview

The University of the Ozarks men's basketball team is getting a near complete overhaul for the 2017-2018 season. The Eagles are under the direction of new head coach Travis Carruthers, who was an assistant coach and player in the American Southwest Conference. The high-scoring Eagles averaged 85 points per game a year ago, but gave up 92. Senior forward Dylan Gray is the backbone of the Eagles as he is the only returning starter. The 6-foot-4 Gray averaged 14 points and 8.4 rebounds per game. He finished 13th among ASC players in three-pointers made, hitting 52. The versatile Gray posted a double-double nine different times. Skyler Barnes, Clay Conley and Konner Johnston add to the guard rotation, while big men Cory Wilhelm and Kelvin Knight patrol the paint.

Returning Starters:
Dylan Gray

Key Players Off The Bench From 2016-17 (returning): Skyler Barnes (guard), Cory Wilhelm (forward), Clay Conley (guard), Konner Johnston (guard)

Newcomers: Bryson Johnson (guard), Miolin Cummins (guard), Zach Bobo (guard), Reno Dupor (guard), Joey Hall (guard), Jordan Adkins (guard), Keon Jenkins (guard/forward), Tim Turpin (forward)

Top Returning  Scorer: Dylan Gray (14.0)

Top Returning Assist Leader: Dylan Gray (1.3)

Top Returning Rebound Leader: Dylan Gray (3.4)

Team Field Goal Percentage: 46.2%

Team Opponent Field Goal Percentage: 46.8%

Team Scoring Per Game: 85.4

All-Conference Players Returning: Dylan Gray (All-Freshman Team, 2014-15)

2016-17 Record (ASC):
8-17 (2-14 ASC)

2016-17 Conference Finish: Sixth

Coach Carruthers Interviews:





2017-2018 Media Guide Link

2017-2018 Prospectus Link

2017-2018 Schedule
12 @ UCA (exhibition)
15 Hendrix College
17 at Dominican
18 @ Illinois College Tournament
28 @ Hendrix College
30 @ University of Dallas

2 *University of Texas-Tyler
5 @ *McMurry University
14 *University Mary Hardin-Baylor
17 *Concordia University Texas
18 @ Little Rock (exhibition)
29 @ Oglethorpe
30 @ Oglethorpe University Tournament

4 @ *Sul Ross State University
6 @ *Howard Payne University
11 *Belhaven University
13 *Louisiana College
20 @ *Texas Dallas
22 @ *Hardin-Simmons University
25 @ *LeTourneau University
27 @ *East Texas Baptist University

1 *East Texas Baptist University
3 *LeTourneau University
5 @ *University of Texas-Tyler
8 *Texas Dallas (Senior Day)
15 @ *Louisiana College
17 @ *Belhaven University
22-24 American Southwest Conference Championship Tournament

*American Southwest Conference game